The Psalms

The Psalms have been such a comfort to me as I’ve journeyed upon deep inner healing and restoration. There is a freedom found within them which encourages me to pour out my heart completely to God. The Psalmist writes with a raw honesty which gives me courage to do the same.

Feelings of being overwhelmed are expressed:

“O Lord, I have so many enemies; so many are against me.”  Psalm 3:1 NLT

Feelings of complete abandonment:

“I look for someone to come and help me, but no one gives me a passing thought! No one will help me; no one cares a bit what happens to me. Hear my cry, for I am very low. Rescue me from my persecutors, for they are too strong for me.” Psalm 142:4,6 NLT

Feelings of utter despair:

“You have thrown me into the lowest pit, into the darkest depths.” Psalm 88:6 NLT

The thing that I’ve also noticed is there is a huge BUT found in the Psalms. This horror is happening and I’m feeling in the depths of despair BUT!

I’m overwhelmed BUT:

“But you, O Lord, are a shield around me; you are my glory, the one who holds my head high.” Psalm 3:3 NLT

I feel abandoned BUT:

“Then I pray to you, O Lord. I say, “You are my place of refuge. You are all I really want in life.” Psalm 142:5 NLT

I’m in the depths of despair BUT:

“Your unfailing love will last forever. Your faithfulness is as enduring as the heavens.” Psalm 89:2 NLT

One particularly rough day I attempted my own Psalm which you can find here: ‘Lord Hear My Cry’.

If you wanted to complete a study on a Psalm you might choose Psalm 117: “Praise the Lord, all you nations. Praise him, all you people of the earth. For his unfailing love for us is powerful; the Lord’s faithfulness endures forever. Praise the Lord!” Psalm 117:1-2 NLT

2 verses, short and sweet but powerful truths.

However I was drawn to Psalm 119 the longest Psalm! This Psalm contains 176 verses that focus on the importance, value and impact of God’s Word. It is a powerful Psalm to study.

Over the next few weeks I’m going to share with you my study of this psalm. I pray that it will greatly encourage and empower you.

Many blessings, Keona

Leave a comment