Constant Communion Consciousenss

“Discovering our true identity is a basic need of the human heart. Until we find our identity, we will be searching for the rest of our lives for peace and fulfilment.” Bob George

The last 3 years have been tough. My inability to perform the simplest task screamed inadequacy and failure! All I could see for a long time was my worthlessness. My struggle with inability left me questioning my value. Upon reflection, I realise that I placed my value in what I could do NOT who I am.  I was so quick to adopt that false label, which was hateful and hurtful. Satan then fanned those incorrect labels into a flame that threatened to consume me. It doesn’t matter what that false label is as long as it isn’t the fact that I am a child of God. I was searching for who I was but unable to find the answers. I realised that unless I allowed God to reveal my true identity I would be lost within those false labels.

“Listen to God’s voice above all others. When you know who HE says you are, it doesn’t matter who THEY say you are.” #WithoutRival Lisa Bevere

September last year I attended a Majestic Women retreat where healing was declared over my life. Not only was healing placed into my spirit but a hunger to know more about God.

November last year I attended another Majestic Women event. The speaker touched on communion. She mentioned Romans 8 and explained that we are adopted children of God. She went on to explain that there is a work happening within in us, where we will be revealed as who we were originally created to be! So, I wrote: ” I am no longer a sinner for I am a daughter of God!”.

Later she went on to talk about having communion daily. She explained that it is a symbol of desiring to be transformed from the inside out!

This concept was a complete new revelation for me! She explained that we can take communion on our own and it doesn’t have to be a piece of bread and juice, it can be our cereal and cup of tea that represent the communion elements. That opened up a whole new realm of thinking and I realized that it’s not about what I consume but why I consume.

I’ve been on journey of discovering more about God, more about this concept of daily communion and therefore more about me!

As Heidi Baker states in her book Compelled By Love: “We must, in love, empty ourselves and become poor in spirit to gain the riches of heaven and be filled with Him. The Christian life is all about union and communion.”

I sensed a deep desire within to eat the Bread of Life daily. I knew that daily I needed to be cleansed afresh in Jesus’ blood.

Matthew 5:6 Amplified Bible (AMP) “Blessed [joyful, nourished by God’s goodness] are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness [those who actively seek right standing with God], for they will be [completely] satisfied.”

A great desire grew within me to be totally transformed into who God has created me to be! This is promised in 2 Corinthians 3:18 (NLT): “So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord – who is the Spirit – makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.”. This promises an exciting journey of continually transforming from one version of me into another, constantly improving and becoming more like Christ.

“….when your identity is in Christ, your identity is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Criticism can’t change it. Failing can’t shake it. The headlines can’t ruin it. Lists can’t determine it.
When your identity is in the Rock, your identity is rock-solid. As long as God is for you, it doesn’t matter what mountain rises ahead of you. You aren’t your yesterday, you aren’t your messes, you aren’t your failures, you aren’t your brokenness.” Ann Voskamp

As I’ve embarked on this act of communion each day It has become so much more to me than a ritual and far beyond symbols of sacrifice.

Communion has become a consciousness – I’m on a journey where my identity as God’s heir is becoming my reality!

Another statement that Heidi Baker makes in her book is that “We must all be pliable in the Master’s hands. For He wants to turn you upside down in order to turn the world upside down (Acts 17:6).”

Today I desperately desire to Ignite in you a passion to know more about God and therefore more about who you really are. This will enable you to live out the great calling upon your life.

We were created to be in relationship with God – be in constant communion with Him.

God loves you more than you can ever imagine. God loved you before you even drew breath and He displayed His great love for you by sending Jesus to die upon a cross. This was God’s display of His extravagant love. But it didn’t end there! Jesus was raised from the dead so that we could join him in heaven. The Holy Spirit was sent to enable us, equip us and encourage us right now. Right in this moment God wants to grow your capacity to receive His love, which will grow your ability!

In William Paul Young’s book The Shack, the main character is chatting to Jesus, Sarayu (the Holy Sprit) and God about priority and God states: “I don’t just want a piece of you and a piece of your life. Even if you were able, which you are not, to give me the biggest piece, that is not what I want. I want all of you and all of every part of you and your day.”

God wants to be part of every moment of our lives so that each and every minute can be orchestrated by Him!

Let’s look at the main verse I reflect on, Romans 8, and some wonderful things I’ve discovered:

Why Jesus was sent: The law of Moses was unable to save us. So God did what the law could not do, he sent his own son in a body like the body we sinners have!

Jesus then became the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.

Christ Jesus died for us and was raised to life for us! Jesus now sits in the place of honour pleading our case!

What are the results of Jesus’ great sacrifice?

There is no longer any condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus because we are freed from the power of sin that leads to death. The spirit lives within us and gives us life!

Overwhelming victory is ours through Christ!

Nothing in all creation can separate us from the love of God!

We are children of God because of His spirit within us! Together with Christ we are heirs to God’s glory!
When we let the Holy Spirit control our minds it leads us to life and peace.

Romans 8 reminds us that:

  • We are chosen
  • We are called
  • We have been given right standing
  • We have been given God’s glory
  • The very same spirit that raised Jesus from the dead resides in us!

Now that last one is truly mind blowing! If we can grasp that it changes our lives!

Declare it: The very same spirit that raised Jesus from the dead resides in me!

Truly believe that powerful statement and allow it to become life altering truth!

Truly live that powerful truth and allow it to empower you to alter the world!

 “God calls us to be one with Him and each other. God calls all of us to love Him with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength, loving our neighbours as ourselves.” Heidi Baker.

The emblems are symbols of something very sacred!

  • Communion acknowledges what Jesus did for us on the cross.
  • Communion reminds us of our position as children of God.
  • Communion grants us an opportunity to begin to transform into the image of God – into who we were created to be!

2 Corinthians 7:1 (NLT) “Because we have these promises, dear friends, let us cleanse ourselves from everything that can defile our body or spirit. And let us work toward complete holiness because we fear God.”

My prayer:

“Lord words cannot truly express the gratitude I have for what you’ve done for me!

Lord I thank you so much for your body which was bruised and broken for me! I declare afresh that by your stripes I have received physical healing!

Lord I thank you so much for your blood that was willingly poured out for me! That your blood cleanses me afresh today;  wipes all record of sin from my life and actually deals with the root of sin in my life! I thank you for the cup of blessing, your precious blood, that gives me spiritual healing!

May your power fill me today afresh, transform me from the inside out to become who you have created me to be! Fill me with your resurrection spirit so that I am empowered for the work you set before me. Amen!”

Many blessings, Keona

At The Cross (Love Ran Red) – Chris Tomlin – YouTube lyrics & chords clip

Healer – Kari Jobe – YouTube clip

Compelled By Love – Heidi Baker -Koorong book link

Leave a Reply

