Lifestyle Of Worship

To receive love, via my love language, is through words of affirmation and quality time – I love getting messages from people and I love spending time with people.

Guess what was robbed from me when I was sick? The ability to receive affirmation and the ability to spend time with people. My inability to receive God’s love was also distorted! I desperately tried to press into Him but there were many times when I just didn’t feel any connection!

A few months ago I felt a real desire to gift moments to God – set aside specific time regularly to spend it with Him. My love languages, ways I reveal my love, is gift giving and acts of service. I felt that I needed to enter into a space of reckless abandonment in my pursuit for more of God.

“As the deer longs for streams of water, so I long for you, O God.” Psalms 42:1 (NLT)

I was inspired to worship God wholeheartedly like David did, this is described in 2 Samuel 6:14: David danced before the Lord with all his might, with great enthusiasm and with great abandon! NLT, AMP & MSG paraphrased

Jehu Hernandez reflects on David and states: “Worship was giving his life completely to God and to God’s purposes.”

How inspiring and challenging is that!

“Through Him, therefore, let us at all times offer up to God a sacrifice of praise, which is the fruit of lips that thankfully acknowledge and confess and glorify His name.” Hebrews 13:15 Amplified

Sunday, the 7th of May, the sermon was about Mary and Martha! I’m so grateful God has taken me through this deep inner healing. I can boldly declare that striving and distractions are gone in my life! I am no longer a Martha – constantly too busy and distracted by life to engage with God at the level I need to!

Surely a lifestyle of worship should be my response for all that God has done, is doing and will do in my life! I am called to a life of worship because that’s how I’m created to be! I’m not part of the worship team at church, but I am a worshiper! Well how do I worship?

  • I Join creation in singing God’s praises in the morning!
  • I’ll put my earbuds in and play worship music while I clean. My family laugh at me as I make sounds even whales can’t recognize!
  • I’ll play worship music clips on our big tv.
  • I’ll soak in worship music while I write
  • I choose to gift God all I am and all I have!
  • I choose to worship Him in all I do!

God asked me to work on my confidence in Him – to lay down my self-confidence struggles. At first it was go to church early and worship God in His house – kneel, dance, pray through the building…… then it was to go to the beach and worship publicly – raise my hands and sing out loud. I’ve had some people walk past me as I do all this and at first I felt embarrassed! BUT Saturday the 6th of May, as I noticed people walking past, I didn’t feel embarrassed! I hoped that my passionate worship might be contagious and inspiring! As they walked past I blessed them (quietly to myself). It was such a transformation.

At the Majestic Women retreat, early May 2017, I danced – I haven’t been able to dance for ages due to energy issues. I felt prompted again Sunday 7th of May at church, at the end of the service, we went into a time of worship and were encouraged to lay it all down. I felt prompted to dance. As I started I declared: “I’m free to dance and free to sing!!!”. I then danced and sung about God’s freedom flowing like a river and falling like rain. I feel such a shift! Such a release in my life! Oh, I’m just bursting at the seams despite the fact that when I started writing this I was lying on the couch feeling utterly exhausted. I know God has started a HUGE mighty work!!!

In those moments of soaking in God I’m receiving love from God via my love languages – words of affirmation spring forth in my mind and I know God is engaging in spending the time with me! It’s truly astounding!

“I will thank you, Lord, among all the people. I will sing your praises among the nations.” Psalms 57:9 NLT

We are created in Gods image to rule over the earth. When we engage in worshiping God all of creation listens and responds! I hear the birds sing and it seems louder; I see the birds and insects draw near; I often have one or two birds visit with me; I feel the winds respond and a gentle breeze will blow across my face – even when no breeze was felt before!

There are times when it seems difficult to praise but Patricia King puts it all into perspective: “I sense the Lord saying, “Worship though your disappointments.” When you have questions because you do not know the answers, turn your questions into worship…worship in deep surrender and lay your unanswered questions on the altar. He will fill you…heal you…restore hope.”

“Since we are receiving our rights to an unshakable kingdom we should be extremely thankful and offer God the purest worship that delights his heart as we lay down our lives in absolute surrender, filled with awe.” Hebrews 12:28 The Passion Translation

“Never miss an opportunity to dance. Or a reason to laugh. Or a chance to love.” Linda Poindexter

The Passion Translation: “The Hebrew language has meaning attached to every letter, not just every word. Often, the meaning of the word is the combination of the meaning of each individual letter. For example, the Hebrew word for worship (shachah) means to bow down in adoration. It’s the combination of only three letters in Hebrew: shin-chet-hei.

Shin = fiery passion

Chet = joining with God in a secret place or bridal chamber

Hei = in the presence of God”
I’m dancing with exultation and sending you many blessings!

Keona

‘As the Deer Pants’ – Chris & Jennie Orange – lyrics YouTube clip

‘Beautiful Heart’ – Zions Hill & Carolyn Billings -lyrics YouTube clip

‘You have ravished my heart’ – Brian & Jen Johnson – lyrics YouTube clip

‘Resurrecting’ – Elevation Worship – lyrics YouTube clip

Jehu Hernandez complete blog

More about Linda Poindexter

Leave a Reply

