The Wall Of Waiting

God promises something but then you ‘hit the wall of waiting’! You enter into a state of limbo: a period of time that has no known end; where you are forced to wait; you have no control; there seems to be no improvement or progress. You can begin to feel cast aside; forgotten; and abandoned!

My wall of waiting feels frustrating! I feel as if I should be doing something more! I feel as if my life is wasting away! Where is my purpose? Where is my direction?

My first state of being in ‘limbo’ was when I was sick. Suddenly all that was normal before was impossible! I couldn’t function as I once was able to. I was deeply frustrated as I couldn’t understand what was going on! I was stuck between sick and healed!

My second time is now – my restoration and transformation phase. It feels as if dreams are racing by like kites and I can’t grasp the string! They simply fly out of reach. I wonder if they will ever return? Will I ever accomplish my calling? I feel like a racehorse stuck in the gate. I desperately want to run and get into the race of life again. But I am stuck between healed and restored. I am stuck between called and anointed release.

Then revelation comes! Jesus experienced ‘limbo land’ or the ‘wall of waiting’. Sent to earth for a purpose he waited around 30 years before he entered into ministry. But during that time he was still faithful to the call upon his life – at the age of 12 he sat in the temple and amazed people with his wisdom.

How can I be faithful during this time? I believe that God cries out for me to rest in Him.  I am to sit by His still life-giving waters. I am to embrace this season of rest. I’m being rebuilt and that takes time! I’m being restored and that requires patience! I’m being made whole and that requires rest!

“God’s goal for us is not merely to change our circumstances–it is to change us! That is the evidence of His unconditional love for you and me.” Christine Caine

I love that quote! This journey has me on my knees before God and I cry out to be changed.

“Lord, I have chosen you alone as my inheritance.

You are my prize, my pleasure, and my portion.

I leave my destiny and its timing in your hands.

Your pleasant path leads me to pleasant places.

I’m overwhelmed by the privileges that come with following you, for you have given me the best!

The way you counsel and correct me makes me praise you more, for your whispers in the night give me wisdom, showing me what to do next.

Because you are close to me and always available, my confidence will never be shaken, for I experience your wrap-around presence every moment.

My heart and soul explode with joy – full of glory!

Even my body will rest confident and secure.

For you will not abandon me to the realm of death

nor will you allow your Holy One to experience corruption.

For you bring me a continual revelation of resurrection life, the path to the bliss that brings me face-to-face with you.” Psalm 16:5-11 The Passion Translation

“We cannot let the difficulty of our circumstances define the faithfulness of our God.” Lysa TerKeurst
Lysa’s words enable me time after time to keep pressing through.

God I trust in Your faithfulness to COMPLETELY restore me and strengthen me!

Jesus I trust in Your faithfulness to complete in me the work that You need to do!

Holy Spirit I trust in Your faithfulness to bring to pass all that you call me to!

From this I believe I will move forward into ALL You call me to!!

Without the restrictions of the past.

Without the doubts!

Without the fears!

Without the feebleness!

You will grow in me a new boldness!

In Your confidence I will walk!

In Your strength I will run the race!

I need to untangle the mess in my mind; in my heart; in my spirit…

Psalm 143:8 is my heart’s cry: Let me hear Your lovingkindness in the morning; let the dawning day bring me revelation of Your tender, unfailing love; tell me in the morning about Your love. Give me light for my path and teach me, for I trust in you; show me what I should do, because my prayers go up to you; teach me the way in which I should walk, for I lift up my soul to You. I trust in You. (NCV, AMP and The Passion Translation paraphrased)

Faced with the ‘wall of waiting’ is hard but God is in the waiting, He is working, so press in and embrace all He has for you.

Many blessings

‘Take Courage’ – Kristene DiMarco – YouTube clip

‘Steady Heart’ – Steffany Gretzinger – YouTube clip

‘Be Still’ – Steffany Frizzell Gretzinger – YouTube clip

Leave a Reply

