Adventure Of A Lifetime

21 years ago I embarked on the adventure of a lifetime. I married one gorgeous hunk of a man!

I naively said my vows without any comprehension of how much they would be tested.

We have faced grief unimaginable – miscarriages.

We have faced challenges incomprehensible – for most of our relationship I was sick!

If our vows had contained those heartbreaks and those challenges would we still have said “I do.”? Or would we have said “that sounds terrible…so no thanks!”.

Marriage is a journey of learning how to love and how to be a wife.

To know what love should look like and be I studied 1 Corinthians 13. Since then I have been trying to live it out. I am on a continual journey of growing in: kindness; humility; grace; forgiveness; patience; and endurance.

“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” 1 Corinthians 13: 4-7 (NLT)

To know how to be the best wife I can be I have studied Proverbs 31. I am trying to be: virtuous and capable; trustworthy; encouraging; supportive; productive; faithful; generous; wise; and watchful of my family. Most of these things were near impossible when I was sick!!!!

“Love does not stop nicely to calculate the less or more; love does not stop to work out how little it can respectably give. With a kind of divine extravagance, love gives everything it has and never counts the cost. Calculation in never any part of love.” William Barclay

Was me being sick part of the ‘package’ that my husband signed up for? Most certainly not. The 28 months that I was in the grip of adrenal fatigue forced him to carry a load far greater than he (or I) imagined! He has revealed to me what love is and can be, throughout our whole relationship, but in particular during that time of our lives. Did he stop to calculate how much it was costing him? Maybe, but he still chose to love me anyway! How amazed am I? Beyond words. I can never thank him enough. But what I can do is give him back all I am.

As I am restored I pray that the love described in 1 Corinthians 13 is personified in me. As I am transformed I pray that the woman described in Proverbs 31 is who I become!

If I pause to contemplate how difficult that is I would find it impossible. But I’ve got a gracious God who fills me with His great never ending love so it is possible!

What’s the next 21 years plus look like? Amazing! How do I know that? Well because Proverbs 31:25 declares that I am clothed with strength and dignity so I can laugh without fear of the future.

I’m so blessed beyond comprehension to have such an amazing man in my life! This certainly is the adventure of a lifetime and it’s for my lifetime!

Thanks for celebrating with me.

Many blessings!

U2 – ‘All I Want is YOU’ – YouTube Clip

2 thoughts on “Adventure Of A Lifetime

  1. Reblogged this on majesticwomen and commented:
    So good to hear an honest opinion on marriage. I think so many couples enter into marriage with this idyllic journey and is very disappointed if things does not go that way. We should share the message of what it means to stand together through thick and thin. I Love your story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

