Living Above Circumstances

Tuesday I had started working on my weekly blog and my theme was based on an everyday God. Whilst imprisoned Paul wrote about how he had learned to be content, through Christ, and satisfied regardless of his circumstances: “….for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” Philippians 4:11 (KJV)

In the message version it explains that Paul had discovered something significant: “I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.” (an excerpt of verses 10-14)

It’s a truly astonishing thing to be content regardless of circumstances, especially when his circumstances would have been very dire!

What was this incredible ‘recipe’ that Paul had discovered and was experiencing in the darkest of places?

Could it be:

That he sensed God was with him.

That he knew his home was in heaven so his current situation was only temporary.

That God was using him even in that place.

He knew his strength, comfort and joy came from the Lord not his current situation!

Was Paul holding onto promises such as this: “My flesh and my heart may fail, But God is the rock and strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:26 (Amplified)

What an inspiration! What a challenge!

As I contemplated this statement I wrote “I hold onto the truth that Paul found hope despite his circumstances, so therefore I can too!!!!”

Wednesday afternoon and evening this statement was tested!

A migraine attack raged in me and I was forced into bed. As I laid there listening to worship music I cried out to God. I rebuked my pain, the nausea and intense tingling in my face and arm. At one stage I thought I’d throw up so I knelt in front on my toilet crying out to God for victory. I asked God to either enable me to vomit – thus purge me or enable me to sleep. I didn’t vomit so I declared that God would give me a sweet refreshing sleep (Jeremiah 31: 25-26).

Thursday I woke up early, when hubby left for the airport, I felt terrible. I put on worship music and then thankfully managed some more sleep. I wasn’t able to get out of bed for breakfast until 8.30 am. I had a terrible headache, I felt very woozy but my vision had returned and the tingling in my face and arm was also gone! Previously migraines like that had progressed and left my left side numb for days, I would also have a constant intense headache and be too woozy to do much at all!

God promises to be my very present help in my time of need: “So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” Hebrews 4:16 (NLT)

Wednesday night I felt like I was in the fight of my life – for my life. I had made a decision to give my all to God and totally rely on Him,  I felt in that moment I was being tested.  I decided that night that Jesus mattered to me much more than my circumstances or pain! I can boast of the good work that has been done in me by Jesus! I know I have the belt of truth around my waist and no one can remove God’s truth from my life!!

“Only when you begin to trust the Lord and rely on His love and grace will you learn to be content regardless of where you live or how bad your circumstances seem.” Bob George

My circumstances demanded that I wasn’t healed! My body screamed for relief. Only Jesus can complete the good work that has been started! Jesus has healed me and is restoring me! I am being transformed into who God wants me to be! I need to hold onto that NO matter what my circumstances say! NO matter what my body does!

“Anyone who believes in me may come and drink! For the Scriptures declare, ‘Rivers of living water will flow from his heart.’”” John 7:38 (NLT)

I speak words of life over my body to bring it into alignment with God’s promises!

I can sing and I can dance – Because of His great joy

I can laugh and I can rejoice – Because of His amazing grace

Jesus fills me with His joy

Jesus fills me with His grace

I pray that today you can live above your circumstances. That you can grasp onto the great promises that God has given you.

Many blessings!

Pic cred Diana Simumpande

Building 429 – “Impossible” (Official Lyric Video) – YouTube clip

Steven Curtis Chapman – “Warrior” – YouTube clip

Link to “War Room” movie

One thought on “Living Above Circumstances

  1. Powerful testimony to your faith and God’s grace Keona. You are an inspiration. I know it may be hard to hear and word like .. “it will get better” seem empty promises yet God promises to be our Yes and Amen in all circumstances. You are brave and courageous. Keep on fighting the good fight. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

