A Great Treasure

I have been reflecting upon the story of Peter and a crippled man.

The story begins with describing his life: crippled since birth; carried each day to sit beside the Temple gate; here he would beg as people walked past.

The crippled man sees Peter and John approach and asks them for money. “..Peter said, “Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk.” And he took him by the right hand and lifted him up, and immediately his feet and ankle bones received strength.” Acts 3:6-7 (NKJV)

Peter gave to the crippled man in the temple something far more precious than silver or gold – the gift of eternal life which manifested in the form of healing and wholeness! How astounding!!

What an amazing treasure we hold inside of us!

God’s word promises that through Jesus’ power we have the cure for every situation! All we need to do is become bold! The only lasting thing we can give people is Jesus!

As I reflect on that story I wonder how many opportunities have passed me by? How many times have I remained silent when I shouldn’t have?

“The invasion of God into impossible situations comes through a people who have received power from on high and learn to release it into the circumstances of life.” Bill Johnson from his book ‘When Heaven Invades Earth’.

I am also struck at how simple the interaction was. Peter just reached out and asked the man to believe in the name of Jesus! I am reminded again to be simple in my prayer life but also specific and strategic – rebuke strongholds.

In the Amplified Bible version it states Peter advised him to walk and keep on walking! This is a great reminder that healing comes but also testing and so we need to keep pressing in and declaring we ARE healed! The days when we can’t face another step we need to remember the great power we have inside of us and command our body to respond!

“Putting Christ’s words into practice enables us to stand through the storms of life and live above our circumstances.” Bob George

I desire to be completely restored and totally transformed. Then I can live out the awesome challenge to transform the world around me! So today I will walk in the promises that God has given me. I will declare them afresh over my life to enable me to keep walking. I’ll remind myself of this great treasure that I have inside of me and the great commission I’ve been given to impact the world in the name of Jesus!

Bobbie Houston states: “I STILL believe miracles can happen in the darkest places… PRAY to that end. ADVOCATE to that end. RAISE YOUR VOICE to that end. The world is “ripe for light.””

I also love the crippled man’s response to his healing: “and with a leap he stood up and began to walk; and he went into the temple with them, walking and leaping and praising God.” (Verse 8 AMP)

His praising started a chain reaction: “All the people saw him walking and praising God; and they recognized him as the very man who usually sat begging for coins at the Beautiful Gate of the temple, and they were filled with wonder and amazement and were mystified at what had happened to him.” (Verses 9 &10 AMP)

What a great reminder that our praise and worship can be contagious!

“Praise honors God. But it also edifies us and destroy the powers of hell!” Bill Johnson

I desire to impact the world with the treasure of words that God is giving me and Smith Wigglesworth challenges me so much with this statement: “Fear looks; faith jumps. If I leave you as I found you, I am not God’s channel. I am not here to entertain you but to get you to the place where you can laugh at the impossible, to believe and to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”.

I pray that today, right now, you can join me in claiming anew the great treasure you hold within. Then see a way to impact the world around you. It may be small but don’t worry God takes our small efforts and magnifies them. Remember that your praise and worship alone can be contagious!

Many blessings!

Freedom song – Bethel Music – YouTube clip

Jonathan David & Melissa Helser – Resurrection in My Veins – YouTube clip

Broken Vessels (Amazing Grace) – Hillsong Worship – YouTube clip

Check out more great stuff about Bethel

Link to Bill Johnson’s book – ‘When Heaven Invades Earth’ on Koorong

Photo Cred Pixabay

Leave a Reply

