Dawn Breaks

Many people have noticed that the earth seems to become dark and cold just before the sun rises. Bryan Yeaton from ‘The Weather Notebook’ reflects on this and explains that when the light first appears the incoming solar radiation is very weak. He further explains that at first it does not have enough strength to counteract the heat escaping from the earth’s surface. Thus, the temperature continues to fall until the solar rays shine strong enough to counter the heat loss.

There is a widely known quote: “It is said that the darkest hour of the night comes just before the dawn.” This is claimed to have been first published by Thomas Fuller in 1650. This quote is used often to encourage those facing hardship to press on. Urging them to hold on until the dawn arrives, meaning hold on until breakthrough comes!

So many times through my illness journey I couldn’t believe how dark, cold and empty I felt. Time after time I was left wondering if my ‘dawn’ would ever come! I feared that I would be left in that place of despair forever! At times, I couldn’t even see a slight glimmer of light! Just like the earth’s surface I found that my darkest and coldest moment came just before my ‘dawn’. Leading up the life changing retreat, held by Majestic Women, I had a truly horrendous week! Recently I’ve started on a journey in search of complete healing – emotionally, mentally and physically. It’s tough! I’ve had many more dark cold days where it feels simply too hard! My ‘dawn’ keeps getting stolen! But then God’s promises will break light into my darkness and I’ll be reminded that “I fight FROM victory, not FOR victory.” – a great reminder from Lysa TerKeurst. This statement is supported by Romans 8 which promises me that I am MORE than a conqueror because Jesus’ spirit resides in me!

As each dawn breaks over the earth I am reminded that God’s grace and mercy is new each day and is so very real!

“Keeping my face turned towards the Son of God is my only hope for keeping life in proper perspective. Take me eyes off Jesus, and problems seem too hard to solve, burdens too heavy to bear.” Darlene Sala

In 2 Samuel 23:4 we are reminded that God is just like the morning light at sunrise.

Amos 5:8 reminds us that God turns darkness into morning.

2 Peter 1:19 urges us to pay close attention to what is written in the bible for it is like a lamp shining in a dark place. We are reminded that Christ is the Morning Star who can shine in our hearts!

I have been fortunate to witness some very glorious sunrises of late. I have been changed from someone who dreaded awaking early to someone, through obedience, who has come to be completely in love with my early mornings! As I worship God in those moments I sense the great celebration that is happening! Each morning creation sings God’s praises so how special is it to be able to join in! In that moment, I feel such a part of Psalm 65:8 – Those who dwell at the ends of the earth stand in awe of God’s signs, stand in awe of His wonders! From where the sun rises and where it sets God inspires shouts of joy! The dawn and the sunset shout for joy! (NLT & NASB paraphrased).

In that moment I declare Psalms 130:5-6 (NLT) “I am counting on the LORD; yes, I am counting on him. I have put my hope in his word. I long for the Lord more than sentries long for the dawn, yes, more than sentries long for the dawn.”

“Get filled with God first thing in your day so you can love and give and serve out of overflow rather than relying on your own limited strength. The filling of the Holy Spirit is not just for spiritual ministry but for all aspects of our lives.” Darlene Sala

If you’re facing hardship I hope that you can find comfort in knowing that your own ‘dawn’ is coming, please press into God and hold on!

Majestic Women have an upcoming retreat and I’d love you to join me:

Majestic Women Retreat 4-6th May 2017

Many Blessings!!

Morning Song – Steffany Gretzinger – YouTube clip

How Can It Be – Lauren Daigle – YouTube clip

 

woman-happiness-sunrise-silhouette-larger

Picture Cred: pexels.com Photographer: Pixabay

Leave a Reply

