Take Out The Trash

As I was spending more time on my laptop I found I was getting some neck pain. I decided to get a riser to sit my laptop on as well as a wireless key board and mouse. As I was throwing away the box (that the keyboard and mouse had been packed in) I was left wondering if I should hold onto it. I wondered if I may need to return it, if I did then surely I would need the box it came in? But then I thought ‘it’s a good brand so it should be fine and I’m putting little faith into it by holding onto the box’. I had a funny vision of me chasing after the recycling truck in my ugg boots and purple robe screaming out “stop! I need the box! Stop!”.

I was then prompted to think about all the things I had seemingly placed into God’s hands to then snatch back. Letting go is that process of placing it into ‘God’s bin’ and allowing Him to remove it completely. But sometimes, when ‘His garbage truck’ comes to completely take it away, I find myself screaming for it back.

It can be so hard to let go of past hurts, past pain and especially failed dreams. I seem to be constantly finding myself picking my trash back up and sorting through it again and again and again….. John 3:30 reminds us that “He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” (NLT version)

Continually living with my trash had caused regret to make a home in my heart and it was poisoning my entire body! I had to let go of the things of my past. Forced to sit still is extremely hard! Especially with no breakthrough in sight for my future! It causes me to really evaluate my life! I’ve been forced to wipe the slate clean and allow God to form the design; the plan; and the to do list. As the bible urges us to do: “give your burdens to the LORD, and he will take care of you.” Psalms 55:22a (NLT).

Another version implores us to “cast our burden”. Now I’ve been fishing so the process of casting is the throwing of a lure that you slowly wind back in the hope that you’ve caught a fish! But in this instance the bible is telling us to throw our cares, worries, fears… forcefully at God to NEVER pick them up again!

God wants us to let go, to put it behind us and embrace the beautiful new things He has waiting for us!

“Getting over a painful experience is much like crossing monkey bars. You have to let go at some point in order to move forward.” C.S. Lewis

Some things from your past might be lurking in the shadows of your mind, ready to jump out (like mine were).

Some things from your past might be like a terrifying beast, ready to devour you (like mine tried to do).

BUT don’t be afraid! “Be strong and let your heart take courage, all you who hope in the LORD.” Psalms 31:24 (NASB). Because If God is promoting you to let go of the past, He will hold your hand through the pain! I know that for sure!

“Sometimes we have to let go of what’s killing us, even if it’s killing us to let go.” Christine Caine

So, if you’re struggling to let go please pray and seek God to remove that spot from your heart, to make it clean and renewed. You may have a prayer buddy you can share with, that’s great, be brave and share it with them and ask them to pray with you.

If You would like to study some more on this topic, I highly recommend the following book:

Give It All to Him by Max Lucado – Koorong Link

Many, many blessings!

Letting Go – Steffany Frizzell Gretzinger & Bethel Music – YouTube clip

Beautiful Surrender – Jonathan & Melissa Helser – YouTube clip

Head To The Heart – United Pursuit- YouTube clip

Leave a Reply

