Utterly Distracted

On the 11th of December 2016 I decided I needed to focus. So I wrote the following on a sticky note and stuck it to my wall:

“No Distractions!

God (press into God for breakthrough and direction)

Pray (strategically pray for: my future, health and finances; our church; family and friends; those people God prompts me to)

Write (carve out time and focus on writing the stories God has laid upon my heart)”

Then guess what?! Distractions were ‘thrown at me’. I started to feel unsettled and confused. I came to a ‘crashing’ slump on the 3rd of January 2017!

Our 5 senses are wonderful and I’m so grateful that all mine work so well. But they can only tell me what happening in the physical which, quite often, is in contradiction to what God has promised me! So many times during my restoration phase I’m forced to counteract what my senses are telling me and remind my body of what God has told me and continues to tell me – I AM healed!!!

To walk by faith and not by sight is extremely tough at times! I made a promise that I wouldn’t get distracted but guess what?! Worries and frustrations are piling upon me, leaving me utterly distracted!

I’m distracted from the truth!

I’m distracted from the promises!

All I can see are questions unanswered!

2 Corinthians 5:6-8 declares that I can live with good cheer! I don’t need to droop my head or drag my feet! I can live full of good, hopeful and confident courage?! I am urged to walk by faith – trust in things I don’t yet see! I’m to trust with holy fervor (passion and zeal). I’m to regulate and conduct myself based on my relationship with God and the divine things He promises me! Am I going to let a few bumps in the road and road blocks keep me from all He’s calling me to?  (Amplified, NLT & Message versions paraphrased)

“I’ve discovered that in order to keep doing what God has called me to do, I have to keep letting go of what is safe, comfortable and familiar. And although this may sound like some grand adventure, it honestly never gets easier. At least not for me! Obedience is costly. In fact, it costs you your whole life over and over again. But the rewards of such a life are greater than you or I could ever imagine.” —Christine Caine

2 Corinthians and Christine’s quote both cut me to the core! I need to remain obedient – pray and seek God rather than getting distracted by the wrong thoughts!

What is the great calling upon my life? 2 Corinthians 5:9 states my goal should be to please God! To be constantly ambitious in striving to earnestly be pleasing to Him! I’m to do it cheerfully regardless of my conditions or situation! (NLT AMC & MSG paraphrased)

Whoa! That’s HUGE!

“Jesus doesn’t bring anything up from the wells of human nature – He brings them down from above. The well of your incompleteness runs deep, but make the effort to look away from yourself unto Him.” Oswald Chambers

So I am reminded to look with my ‘spiritual sense’ and draw those things promised, in the spirit, into the physical! So I cast off all those distractions and turn my eyes upon Jesus, the distractions will dim in the light of His glory and grace!!!!

Whatever is heavy upon your heart and mind today I pray that you can cast it upon Jesus. Many Blessings xx

Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus YouTube Clip

 

Leave a Reply

