A New Day A New Year

Most of us approach New Year’s Eve with some idea of what we would like to achieve. Some people set themselves a New Year’s resolution.

I know I’ve approached many years with either:

a list of desires – things I wish to achieve

a mission statement

and or a bible verse to focus on for the year

Sometimes I’ve seen those things come to life and sometimes I’ve been bitterly disappointed.
I’m a goal setter! I love setting myself a challenge and living it! For 28 months (my recent illness) I had 2 goals that I managed to achieve:

Stay alive

Do what I could when I could

It was as simple as that! My highly active and motivated life was reduced to that! It was frustrating and demoralising to say the least!

For 4 months now I’ve been walking in a little more each week! I’m in recovery! Finally! But in that I still need to be very mindful of not getting too busy and pushing myself too much! Baby steps forward.

So as I pondered 2017 I was reminded of this wonderful verse:

Lamentations 3:21-25 I hope and I have expectation! It is because of the Lord’s mercy and loving-kindness that we are not consumed, because His tender compassions fail not. The Lord’s loyal love never ends! God’s merciful love doesn’t dry up. The Lord is good to those who passionately wait and who diligently seek Him. It’s a good thing to quietly hope for help from Him. God’s mercy is new every morning; great and abundant is His stability and faithfulness. His tender compassions are new every morning! (Amplified, NLT and Message versions paraphrased)

I feel the most confused I’ve ever been but I’ve got the most clarity ever! What? Let me explain: I feel the most confused because I have NO idea how my future will unfold or when! I have some ideas of what I think I’m being called to, but as to how that will all unfold is a TOTAL MYSTERY! So how can I say I have the most clarity? Well I don’t know what the future holds BUT I do know the one who holds my future! This is a quote that I am clinging to, for dear life, by Tim Tebow!

So Lamentations 3 promises that January 1 brings a new day AND a new year! A year filled with hope and expectancy!

As I contemplated my future I decided I needed a trip to ‘my happy place’ – my local beach. I wrote “2017” in the sand with a line under it.

2017-second-pic

I then stepped into the numbers and through them as a symbol that:

I will be expectant!

I will walk into ALL that God is calling me to!

I’ve decided I will rise above the typical and be anything but ordinary! God will do something extraordinary so I don’t want to miss the opportunity!

2017-third-pic

As I stood there the waves washed the numbers away and I felt that was a reminder to not allow the craziness of life to wash away my dreams and my calling!

I will be earnest in my efforts to achieve what I am called to do in 2017. I will be diligent; hard working; conscientious; steadfast; zealous; keen and fervent!

“Praise God that His mercies to you are new every morning – He is continually extending Himself to you and seeking ways to bless you, guide you, and encourage you.” Charles F. Stanley

Psalms 90:14 (NLT) “Satisfy us each morning with your unfailing love, so we may sing for joy to the end of our lives.”

I encourage you to grasp hold of and know that 2017 dawns bright and fresh!

Allow hope to bloom in your heart!

Place your confidence in God’s faithfulness!

I can’t wait to see what unfolds!

Many blessings!

Live: Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus feat. Lauren Chandler

Leave a Reply

