Recharge

7-perecent-edited

“Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me.” John 15:4 (NLT)

John 15 verse 4 describes how a branch is unable to produce fruit if it is not attached to the vine and the life giving roots. If the branch is removed from the vine it will wither and die. As I pondered this I was shown how relevant that verse is today and in my life now and forever.

Each night I need to check my phone to see if it needs to be recharged. If it does I plug it into the cord. My recent season has been one of praising God for doing a mighty work in me. I have been fortunate to be able to arise each morning to spend time praising and praying. As I do this I feel that I am ‘recharged’. God flows His life-giving spirit into me. Like my phone battery, which loses charge, I notice through the day that I can tend to get a bit ‘flat’, those are the moments that I declare (again) the great and wondrous promises I have received from God.

Jesus goes on to explain how remaining in God is so vital for our spiritual health in John 15:10 (NLT): “When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.”. I also notice how Jesus talks about needing to be obedient and obey God’s commandments. Jesus is one with God but he still mentions it. I find that really interesting. As I ponder that I wondered if Jesus, being in human form at the time, was made aware of the humanity within? Was he reminding himself to be faithful to his ultimate calling of returning to heaven?! There were many times when Jesus withdrew from everyone and went to spend time with God in solitude. If Jesus needed to do that then I DEFINATELY need to do it!

Just as a weakened phone battery is strengthen by recharging, it is the same for our spiritual strength. As we spend time with the giver of life we receive a recharge which empowers our soul for the coming day; the coming season; and the coming storms.

I was challenged earlier in the week to recharge myself in God alone! I am pressing into God for HUGE things, my future and our finances, it was a VERY tough day. I was booked in to see my Christian Counselor in the morning and then catch up with a friend for lunch. Now both of these those would have been absolutely wonderful to do and I felt they were much needed. But guess what they both cancelled! I was initially disappointed, actually devastated, but I decided I would press into God. So I played some Bethel Worship Music and prayed. I see how vital it is for me to do exactly that right now! I am reminded that in times of trouble I need to run to God first and foremost. He has, will and can do the impossible in my life!

“Prayer shifts your focus away from the problem to the One who can give you the answer, solution, or next step to take. Prayer takes your focus off yourself – and your pain and confusion – to the Father, who knows all, controls all, has all power and is all-loving.” Charles F. Stanley

So I encourage you today to plant yourself firmly into God, view yourself as that vine attached to the giver of life! Ask Him for a fresh revelation and anointing. May He recharge your tired soul with an overflowing joy and peace right now!!

Many Blessings!

100-perecent-editedYou Revive Me song

Leave a Reply

